1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronouns?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by illbehere, Sep 26, 2018.

1. illbehere

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi all, so this is my first time posting in this area. Please correct any mistakes I make. So recently I had an experience where I wasn't sure of someone's pronouns and I accidentally called them "she." I had heard all sorts of pronouns being used. I only figured out their pronouns today because someone asked. However, prior to this, I figured their pronouns wouldn't include she because they have various trans pride and LGBT bracelets. Agh I'm a tiny bit scared they're gonna find this and figure out this is me but I kinda don't care. Anyways, after, i felt really bad because I have read stories about being called the wrong pronouns ruining people's day. The person is a couple years older than me and I am new to the school so I don't really know their story. Turns out they use the pronouns they, them etc. So, what does everyone who doesn't use their original pronouns think. Would you want someone you just met to ask about your pronouns. Has being called the wrong pronouns ruined your day? What would you do if you were in my situation? Thanks for the help!!

2. Hawk

Admin Team Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I wouldn't beat yourself up about it. If you meet them later you could tell them that you're sorry that you used the wrong pronoun and you are now aware they use they/them. If they didn't have any indication (like a sticker, etc) you couldn't have known they prefer neutral pronouns.

That's the thing with they/them pronouns though. They're not the default pronoun that people use, and I don't think people are going to ask every person they meet what their pronouns are.