1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LGBT News Lesbian teacher facing discrimination

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by signmypapyrus, May 12, 2018.

1. signmypapyrus

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
  2. Shoei Loei

Shoei Loei Guest

I’m a lesbian teacher as well, but I don’t discuss personal life at school with students or coworkers (or anyone at work really). Even though I live in CA, I still feel unsafe to be out at work, as I live in a conservative town full of like-minded conservative people. If students ask me personal questions, I try to divert attention to something else to diffuse the situation, or I just lie about it. I keep personal photos and items at home though. A lot of teachers like to have family photos around their desks or on their computer desktop wallpaper that students can see. I just feel safer keeping those things private. I’m single anyways, but still...my personal life isn’t anyone’s business, so I don’t feel like I should bring it to work with me either. It can be hard for some people to be so secretive though. Teachers who work at supportive schools are lucky, but I want to keep my job and not have students and coworkers think less of me...so I keep my sexuality private. We do have a GSA at my high school though, so I figure there’s some support for LGBTQ+ students...but I think I would be seen differently as a teacher if I was ever out at work.

#2 Shoei Loei, May 16, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2018
  3. AndHeCried

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    But isn't there a teacher who runs the GSA and the LGBTQ+ club? Wouldn't it be helpful to the students if that teacher was out and part of their community?

4. AndHeCried

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual