1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internships after college?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by BothWaysSecret, May 16, 2018.

1. BothWaysSecret

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I never had an internship during college, and I have finally found a decent one. The only problem is that I graduated back in 2016. Is it weird to have an internship after college, especially two years after?

Right now I am unemployed (have been for almost a year), so it's not like I have another job that would conflict with it. According to the listing it appears to be paid, as it mentions salary ($10hr) but also mentions giving credits for those still in college, so it seems like they will take graduates or students.

My mother and sister think it's weird that I'd want to do one now, but the way I look at it is, it's still experience. And even if the company doesn't hire me once the internship is over, I can still look for another job elsewhere and get experience in a field related to what I studied (Majored in Animation, internship is in Graphic Design/Interactive Design, which they also required us to take a few courses in). Even if it's not directly related it's close, and it's something I'm still capable of doing. I also don't drive yet, so I'd have to take three buses to get there, but I wouldn't mind doing that.

I feel like when it comes to this, it's better late then never. It could still develop into something, and I'd rather take a chance than not do it and be stuck in dead end retail jobs for the rest of my life, but I'm being told it's not a good idea to do one now.