1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by david27, Feb 12, 2018.

1. david27

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hello,

Im David and im 27.
    As the title suggest I would love to come out to my family or anyone actually.
    But area where I live it's extremely homophobic, I live in a rural area.
    I already wanted to come out to my parents many times, but since I know they are both close minded about those things I just can't afford it.
    Also my friends are very close minded, so I can't come out to them either.
    I also work in a factory, so as u can imagine there I have to listen to homophobic stories every day. Making fun of gay people on daily basis. Telling horrible things, what they would do with gay people.
    One guy last time said "they should be all eliminated" And maybe I shouldn't be surprised, after all im living in a rural area.
    The problem with all that is, I never truly lived. Sure I had fun in high school with my close minded "friends" but this is now over, finding a good friend it's a science fiction here.
    And u expect from younger people to be more tolerant, but not even my cousins, or boyfriends/girlfriends of my cousins are extremely close minded, basically all of my relatives. Thats why im not even up to going out with them anymore or anyone for that matter. Im asked on daily basis from everyone when ill have a girlfriend, and I would love to say "never" but I usually just smile.
    I know this sounds like some conspiracy against me but its just the way it is.
    Im quite strong person in general, so those things doesn't tear me apart. But I know im missing out allot.
    So what u would do?

2. Guywest79

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people