1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Support Group for Lesbian Woman Married to a Man

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by LilaBogen, Oct 3, 2017.

1. Zoe

Zoe

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I know how you feel, and not to make light of those feelings, but I suspect once you go, you'll look back and wondered what it was you were worried about.

Hang in there.

dreamingfreely likes this.
  2. LilaBogen

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Thanks. I'm really concerned I'm going to cry or have a panic attack in the meeting. I don't believe in showing much emotion in public. And I like going to the church. If I embarrass myself too badly I may not be able to go back.

I'm an attorney and I've been trying to tell myself I should pretend the meeting is like a courtroom. I've never come close to crying in court, no matter what opposing counsel or the judge has said to me.

It's just I'm often close to tears every time the Pastor talks about LGBT issues in church, and he doesn't do it that often (most of the church is heterosexual.) This is going to be a small space with probably less than a dozen people. It's hard to hide.

3. silverhalo

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Could you speak to the person who leads the group beforehand to give them a heads up or to get a better idea of the structure of the group and what will happen?

4. LilaBogen

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people