1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Credit Card Advice

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Jmiller85, Apr 7, 2017.

1. Jmiller85

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Im a current college student and have always had the luxury of paying cash for things. Well a buddy was telling me how it could be a good ideal to open a credit card or two and try to build some credit. I currently do not have a job other than being a work study at my college. Some I'm not even sure I could open one? Ideally it would be somewhere like Best Buy or Wal-mart since that is somewhere I frequently go. I would like to buy something small then turn around and pay it off before interest occurred. Would this help my credit score, or am I waisting my time and completely away from what I want to try and do. :slight_smile:

2. kibou97

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    There are credit cards out there that are specifically designed to help young adults build credit so you could definitely get one, you just need to be really careful about which one you choose, the limit you have on the card, as well as the interest rate so as to not make you owe a ton of extra money to credit card companies. I would suggest to not get a credit card tied to any specific store, I'm not super familiar with the interest rates on ones from places like Best-Buy or Walmart but I have heard and seen a few cases where the interest rate is really big which can bite you big time.

#2 kibou97, Apr 8, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2017
  3. Xochipilli