1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it worth it to be specific?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by mettaton, Dec 20, 2016.

1. mettaton

Out Status:
    A few people
    i've been questioning my orientation for three years and i'm almost sure that i'm biromantic homosexual. my problem is that i worry coming out as biromantic homosexual will be, quite frankly, a hassle. i think most people aren't familiar with those terms and (as a slightly awkward person) it could be a source of anxiety for me to have to explain my orientation every time i came out, rather than use the much more well-known "lesbian". and after having adopted lesbian for a bit while i was questioning, i've even become kind of comfortable with using it, but i feel that it hides part of my identity.

so to anyone with a lesser-known orientation, or a two-part orientation: is it worth it to have a more accurate label? and do you have trouble when you're coming out to people due to them not knowing/understanding your orientation?

and thank you :slight_smile:

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Personally, I vote (strongly) for the well-known label. First, there's little to no evidence to support the idea of separations between romantic and sexual attractions, and second, you avoid having to explain to 97% of the population what your label means.

Most people are somewhere on the spectrum, and so any label is baslcally a label of convenience. Of course, if it's important to have a special label that makes you feel like it fits you exactly... then by all means, go for whatever works for you. But in practical terms, I think you'll find it much less hassle, particularly given the anxiety, to just go with the simple, widely-recognized label.

3. wanderinggirl