1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gender dysphoria getting in the way.

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by BrookeVL, Dec 4, 2016.

1. BrookeVL

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm a full time student, who also works a lot at her shitty retail job. I'm pre -everything, but I am starting to take steps towards transitioning, like planning a move to LA with a friend of mine. I'm actually planning on moving out regardless of whether or not that falls through, so I can begin to actually transition and live as me, Brooke. I'm emailing a therapist who specializes in trans patients and trying to get that started, so I get my all powerful note.

In the meantime, school is not going well. I'm in danger of failing every class right now. Part of the problem is, my dysphoria really has been fucking with me. It's been a huge distraction(like it tends to be) both in and out of class. There are times when I won't be able to concentrate on the lecture, and all I can think of is about how bad I feel, how much I hate my body and all it's maleness, and how I know everyone is gendering me as male. I've missed a number of days in one class, because the professor always takes roll by calling out "Mr/Ms Whomever." I hate this. Every time he calls my name with "Mr" in front of it, my heart jumps through my throat. I've even almost cried a few times. My other professors just pass out a sign in sheet, which isn't too bad, though I do hate having to sign my birth name.