1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can't stop thinking that I'm ruining everyone's lives

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by nbd, Oct 28, 2016.

1. nbd

nbd

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I feel heartbroken.

When I began dating my husband, I was a college freshman, young, strong and brilliant. Our lives twined around each other and I absorbed his interests with wonder. College was difficult for me, for the first time ever I struggled with my studies. I knew he was so much more clever than I was, and I was so proud of everything he knew. As he helped me learn, I began to shrink. I questioned everything I did. I asked him to check my homework, look over my emails to professors, do my taxes and financial aid. I hid my own interests as I took on his. Slowly but surely, his goals became my goals. Instead of seeing myself as a trailblazer, I shifted into the role of helpmate and cheerleader. He had so much more potential than me, so it was only natural. I saw value in that position, and I still do. He's got an amazing career, no small part because of my support.

He was the only friend I made in four years of college, and we were married mere weeks after graduation.

I was physically attracted to him, early on. I liked how he made me feel. Wanted, beautiful, for the first time in my life. He was cute, tall and thin, sensitive, kind. So unlike any other boy I had ever met, and I admired him deeply. When the physical attraction faded, I attributed it to my growing anxiety and depression, my lack of direction for my future career. How can you love someone else if you don't love and respect yourself, I thought. I need to keep working on me and then finally I will feel that draw, that physical love, that attraction again.