1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone else have a career that keeps you 100% closeted?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Beth 43, Sep 6, 2016.

1. Beth 43

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Anyone else have a career that keeps you 100% closeted?

I work in education. Anyone else require the closet to keep your career? In a job where society is your customer, so to speak, the rules aren't really the rules. I know they would never fire me over such a thing publicly. I am certain however, that they would come up with some reason and quietly remove me from the building.:dry:

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    i have been in an industry that has historically been known for its good old boy mentality. Like you, I was hesitant to publicly come out for fear of the implications.

I am sure there certainly were quite a bit of whispers and behind door discussions, but I have seen no meaningful impact after having come out some time ago.

I generate business, attend conferences (even with my partner), have meetings without any hint of outward discrimination. And I am still as productive at what I do as I had been prior to coming out.

And there has been real benefits to coming out! I have set an example for others in my industry not to be afraid. Even within my own company, people followed my lead and themselves came out. For others, even at other institutions whom are closeted, they know of me and see that I am standing tall an proud, setting an example for them.

#2 OnTheHighway, Sep 6, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2016
  3. Nickw

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Beth