1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can someone help me with getting over my ex?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by JoeSchmoe, Feb 16, 2010.

1. JoeSchmoe

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Okay this is my first time asking for advice here so sorry if it sounds like I start to ramble at some point. I tend to do that.

Anyway, Recently My boyfriend broke up with me. He told me that he just didn't care about me anymore and that he had actually been feeling like this for a while but just never told me. This really hurt me because I can honestly say that I truly loved him and I thought he felt the same way.

The problem is that ever since we broke up I just cannot stop thinking about him. I try to distract myself from thinking about him but I just can't help it. I feel like I still love him. What makes it worse is that I've heard from friends that the day after we broke up he was already flirting with other guys and trying to replace me. That makes me feel like he never even cared about me to begin with if he doesn't need at least a little bit of time before looking for someone new.

I'm just really hurt by all of this and need some advice on how to forget about him and feel better about myself and this situation.

2. someguy82

While there may always be a twinge of feelings, you will get over it eventually. Someone else will come along, or something new will happen in your life and one day you will just be focused on something else.

One strategy I use to speed up the process is becoming good friends with my exes because I'm never EVER physically attracted to my good friends (nothing like powerful self imposed psychological blocks to defeat anything). I don't know if that will work for you, but you never know.

3. JoeSchmoe

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay