1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking Out: a short story about slipping back in the closet

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by DragonChaser, Jan 9, 2022.

1. DragonChaser

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Warning, I'm a writer, so I'm long-winded aF!

It's been a long year for your girl.

My mother, whom I adore, bought me a subscription makeup service shortly after I came out to her as means of acceptance. I think my sister saved most of it for me. I was living with her when it started shipping. I never updated the shipping address, for a variety of reasons I think only now, as I write these words, am I coming to grips with being far too painful and revealing to possibly recount.

Cool. ( ̄ー ̄)b

Suffice it to say, I lost a lot; almost everything. My brother, who I resented for a very long time, effectively paid my rent. For him, that betrays a kind of patience with me that truly demonstrates love. He kept me from drowning when no one else would. That means something.

Now, it seems, I am lost in myself these days, wondering who I am as a woman, filling in blanks and milestones from decades past, while I maintain a very strenuous work schedule that naturally entails a lot of physical movement and personal interaction.

To be explicit, I am a cook, and one whose skill is above average among my current and admittedly limited peers. And I work two restaurants that tend to be somewhat busy.

I will not give their names, but for my own sake I will say I strongly dislike said names and think they are offensively juvenile. Not in a pearl clutching way, but in a "Shut up, Terry," kind of way. Why do we always bring Terry along anyway? He's such an idiot...