1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Different gazes

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by sunbird, Apr 7, 2022.

1. sunbird

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    How can I tell a difference between a friendly gaze, attraction or sexual interest (or other)? I’m new to all of this and there’s a woman at a cafe who’s been winking and quite intensely gazing at me. I’m flattered by the attention she’s giving me, and at the same time feel a bit uncomfortable because I’m not looking for anything romantic or sexual right now. I wouldn’t mind a friendly conversation, I guess. I’m also aware that I’ve been looking at women more after I gave myself a permission to do that after many years of feeling shame about it. So while I’ve been enjoying that I sometimes I worry I may have welcomed romantic or sexual interest by doing that. I don’t know how I would feel is she approached me, and I probs wouldn’t approach her given her initial interest seems a bit more on the sexy side.

Tightrope and BiGemini87 like this.
  2. Rebelrebel

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    It seems maybe like she would like to talk to you? Something about you has piqued her interest.
    Do you want to talk to her? Are you interested in finding out more about her? Or is there something putting you off? Is it feeling shy? Or are you sensing something else....?