1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by MamaNurse, Jan 2, 2023.

1. MamaNurse

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi everyone! This is my first time here/ posting. I’m a 31-year-old Mom to two boys that are 4 and 1. I’m also a full-time RN working 12 hour shifts.

I finally realized that I’m a lesbian through some deep personal work I’ve done in therapy. For those of you that have read Untamed, my story is essentially the same as Glennon’s. With one exception …

I love my husband and I miss him so much. It’s been about 2 months since I asked him for a separation, and told him that I’m a lesbian. It’s been just over a month since I moved out into my own house a few miles away.

I’ve fully accepted my repressed sexual orientation. I know that I have had a much more fulfilling sex life with women, and don’t desire him in that way. But he is my best friend. He is the person I planned my forever with. He’s the best Dad, and continues to be an amazing support person for me.

I feel like my life has become working long and grueling shifts at the hospital, or alone chasing two young children. Everyone is stressed, and no one seems happy.

Every time we get together for our children, or I give him a hug, I feel desperate to move home and never look back.

Is living authentically as a lesbian even worth it?! Right now I just feel sad, stressed, and lonely.

2. chicodeoro

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    All but family