1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not expected bad reaction, when comming out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Gress, Jul 9, 2022.

1. Gress

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So where do I begin. I am 21yo, definitely lesbian. I am studying university in another city far away from home. I had a girlfriend for a few months, we broke up (not important in this story). But right now I got back home after exam season.

So naturaly I talk more with parents when I am back at home. My mum was curious, why I dont have a boyfriend and if I am just studying all the time. I get it, in her perspective I am just studying all the time, because that is what I talk about. So when she started asking, I told her, I just broke up with someone. After that she started asking more about this with he/him pronouns of course.

I got really uncomfortable and nervous, because it was a girl. I felt like I was lying. So after that I told myself, I am going to tell her. I said to her: "count to ten before you answer. I dated a girl, just so you know" I was procrastinating my coming out for 5 years at least. It is hard for me to talk about this stuff, because I am the "perfect" daughter. Never did drugs or did bad at school.

When I told her she just got quiet for like 5 minutes. Then she said it is her punishment, our family line is ending (i have brother and who says that I will not have children), that I dint try hard enough to date men/boys (I did, it was terrible). Now I feel like the biggest disapointment. I didn´t expect it. All my friends were fine, I just heard about people being homobhobic never happened to me. I througt that I accepted myself but now I feel like I did the biggest mistake by coming out to my parents (she probably told my dad). It is the worst day in my life and I ruined my holidays, because now I feel like shit.