1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I came out … and was threatened to be outed …

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Unidentified, Jun 26, 2022.

1. Unidentified

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I came out to my son today. It went very well and as expected … he’s happy for me, but otherwise unconcerned. His only question was, “is it ok if I still call you Dad?”. I felt wonderful and incredibly free for a few hours …

It was later this afternoon that the problems started. This is my first time coming out and I I didn’t think to ask him not to tell others and he innocently told his mom (my ex) (overheard part of their conversation and he just saw it as happy news worth sharing). I got an email … she has told me in no uncertain terms that she will be telling her family (i don’t care) and a number of our mutual friends (I do care). I got angry and responded that if she does I will be informing everybody she never paid child support (she left to be with another person and our kids stayed with me. She moved to another country and was supposed to pay support but she refused and it was impossible to enforce). I know it’s something she doesn’t want known and when I wrote it I felt it would be enough to keep her at bay, at least until I can come out myself. Now, I feel like an assh*le for even threatening it, though … I just reacted out of frustration, fear and anger. But, I believe two wrongs don’t make a right. I don’t believe in public shaming and know I never will participate in it. Unfortunately my ex likely knows that too.

I’m still shaking and crying - and not thinking clearly. Hysterical is not a strong enough word for where my head is at. Any advice is appreciated. TIA.

#1 Unidentified, Jun 26, 2022
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2022
  2. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He