1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Letting go of Changing a Bigot

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by DragonChaser, May 11, 2022.

1. DragonChaser

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    This is something I'm still learning.

You see, I find as I uncover myself from all the wreckage that I love people. I really do, I love humans. I wish the best in people. I want to believe that everyone is willing to learn like I am, but they aren't.

I remember what it was like to be them, though. I, too, held some very bigoted beliefs once, mostly when I was a child. The reality of bigotry is that it is moored in ignorance and powered by fear. That ignorance can be layered in service of fueling the engine - the fear that drives it.

I feel sorry for them, in a way, but I also still don't quite know how to deal with them. I want to change their minds, to prove them wrong, to make them like me in order to help erase their fear... all at once. Which is ridiculous and impossible.

Since the best I can do is try to lessen their fear, I suppose that must be the choice. But it hurts me, more deeply than it should, when I am confronted with bigotry in those I trusted.

Such an occurrence came recently; silly of me to get my dander up on Facebook of all places, but I probed, not gently as I didn't feel the need, but not violently either. The toxicity that came spilling out unabated was gross, like watching fetid pus shoot out of a wound that'd been poked with a needle. Then came the approval, the sycophants lapping it up and telling me I'm the fool for not sharing it with them.

I almost wanted to copy the post, because it's a perfect example of the kind of justifications people get for their contempt of transpeople, but I got blocked for not showing immediate and obvious approval.