1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling to act on my sexuality

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by jasper0000, Aug 16, 2021.

1. jasper0000

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I'm 27 and male. Since I was a teenager I knew I had feelings of same sex attraction but decided not to explore it and try to date women. I've had some okay experiences with women, some being really intense but in general I've had my doubts and felt like something is missing. Being gay is also not something my family would approve of.

Now I'm independent and live in a big liberal city, where I've told some friends I'm bisexual. I have some gay friends and people are very accepting. But I still can't move forward with this. I go on dating apps, set the settings to look for men and I just feel uninterested. It's like there's no excitement? The guys do not look like objects of desire or people I really want to be with. So I switch back to women, back to the familiar search, sometimes I have a few nice dates or maybe a short relationship, but it doesn't stick.

So I now feel like I've busted my ability to be romantically and sexually attracted to men. It feels like I'm going to have to force myself to date guys for some time until my brain figures out that it's a enjoyable thing. But I just can't do it?

Has anyone had a similar experience? Anyone know how to get through this?

2. Rayland

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am the last person ever to give dating advice, since I am not in a relationship, but I do have a bit of experience and I felt like responding.